Single Serenity

20160712_163239
Photo credit:@Esteacostarubio

Many women make their relationship status an extremely stressful topic. Society doesn’t help either. When you are single people are always asking why you are still single. Then they begin to sing your praises. They tell you how smart and attractive and kind you are and then say that you’ll find the right person someday. Don’t worry this never changes, when you have a boyfriend they ask when the wedding is. When you are married they ask when the kids are coming and on and on. It never seems to be enough, which is why we all have to learn how to be happy now in the present.

Do you know what it feels like to be completely happy with yourself, your life and your surroundings as they are currently? It’s finding the satisfaction in the now that will take you to the next level in your future. This doesn’t mean settling to being single forever, but it does mean having peace in your life no matter what. It means letting go of your relationship status and accepting the best parts of being single and the best parts of being you! 

Before you can possibly think about sharing your life with someone, think about what you are doing for yourself. How can you be happy with someone else if you aren’t in a serene and happy place while single? Ask yourself, am I spending enough time working on my body and my soul? What goals do I  have for myself long-term and short-term that I could start working on now? One of my goals had always been to start a blog/vlog about relationship advice. I put it off forever and finally after some amazing friends kept pushing me… here I am. Writing is good for my soul. Spinning is good for my body. These are just two of the things I love doing for myself. Nobody else reaps the benefits as much as me! The whole point of this blog is to help/inspire other women, but I guarantee you nobody gets more out of it than me. So, what can you do for yourself? My beautiful friend who so generously let me use her picture for this blog decided two years ago that she was going to start practicing yoga. It’s served her heart, soul, mind and body. It’s just one of the things she does to fulfill her life and because of everything she does to serve her soul, she only has room for the absolute best guy to come into her life. All of the other guys who aren’t worth it, never make it past the front door.

Being happy now starts with gratitude. Being grateful for what you have right this very minute will turn your day around. Sometimes, when I feel overwhelmed or stressed I look at the sky and take in a deep breath and I thank God I am still alive and breathing. Life is so amazing as it is, but you have to stop and remember that because it is very easy to fall off track. So many people didn’t make it to this day but you did, so say thank you and feel blessed because being alive is truly that, a blessing. Gratitude journals are also a great way to start and end your day. Every morning wake up and jot down three things you are grateful for at night write down three more. This can be running water, your mother, your new high thread count sheets that are helping you sleep better, anything you want! It’s okay to repeat things, our parents/family/friends are something we can be grateful for everyday! Soon, you’ll fill up a journal full of blessings. How amazing is that?

Remember that once in a relationship you do make sacrifices for the relationship and for your partner. Because love is such an amazing thing and you will only let yourself get into a healthy relationship you don’t feel the sacrifices as much. But, it’s important to remember that there is no rush to jump into a relationship just to be in one. It’s better to be single and truly at peace and in love with yourself and your life than in a bad relationship. Your single serenity will only help you in finding the right person because you will be in alignment with who you truly are and with what you truly want.

Namaste.

yoga-304635_640.png

Leave a comment